1971 El Camino

Update your progress on your various car projects.

Moderators: MostMint, wxo, Fred32v, Basement Paul, ttamrettus

GMJohnny

1971 El Camino

Post by GMJohnny »

it took me a couple of days to get this posted up. The transaction and flurry of activity went down on Thursday the ninth.

After I had a verbal agreement on the 442 sale, I grounded the car and started my search for another project car. I was thinking convertible, Oldsmobile, C6 Corvette, or maybe an El Camino. I think that I’ve looked at 4000 cars online trying to understand what I’m looking at. As I studied the vehicles, pretty quickly I was turned off on mid-60’s Oldsmobile’s because I’ve had a bunch of them. A C6 Corvette is still something I’d love to have, but GMAmy reminded me that a car that’s not a project bores me and there would be not enough there to keep my interest over time. I’d been studying the El Camino’s and happened upon a couple of them locally, so, with a fistful of dollars burning a hole in my pocket, we set out to find a car. BP and I checked out a cool ‘65 that I decided needed too much work to get it back to what I wanted. So, I happened upon a redone ‘71 at a local car lot in Amherst. I found the ad on FB Marketplace. With some serious help & Chevelle wisdom from Tony, and a half of a day behind the wheel (Tony really took a bullet on this - all for a hot dog meal!) we had an El Camino at home in the barn. I’m just now starting to figure out what I got myself into, but the one thing I can say is this car is CLEAN! Paint and undercarriage are the cleanest I’ve worked on. I’ll post up more pics and such as I move through the project, but I feel as though I’ve found a really nice start to a project. More to come….

GM
Attachments
72125201929__3B3974F2-50F7-4F62-86ED-D2A593D733BA.jpeg
GMJohnny

Re: 1971 El Camino

Post by GMJohnny »